• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Evaluating bridgeport ways and what to do about them

Xyphota

Ultra Member
Hello everyone!
I recently purchased my first mill which is a 1963 9"x32" Bridgeport Series 1, which I believe to be in generally good shape but as I am a complete noob, I wanted to hear some extra opinions.

Upon delivery the y-axis was incredibly hard to turn and after removing the y-axis gib, it came out covered in chips and has some pretty deep grooves in it. The X-axis was very smooth. The z-axis was missing the gib adjustment screw so I couldn't give it a fair evaluation. I have since completely disassembled the table down to the knee to inspect the ways, clean out all the chips, and double check that all the oil fittings aren't filled with grease or blocked.

I know the visual wear on the ways in some sense doesn't matter if everything is smooth and tight, but could I get some comments as to if the visual wear you can see in the below pictures is a lot or a little? I'm not experienced enough to comment on this matter haha!

Additionally are there any recommendations to clean up both the surface rust/patina and the high spots from the scratches? I have seen some videos about precision ground flat stones that are advertised as being able to cut/polish off high spots without cutting into flat surfaces

Attachments

• BP1.jpeg