• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Trent KS Vancouver

Trent ks

Hello, I am a multidisciplinary artist based out of Vancouver. I have been blacksmithing and welding since 2010. I had the chance to use a metal lathe at my school in Montreal and since then I have wanted to acquire one of my own, as well as a mill. I have no friends who have experience with either of these machines, and so I have decided to join this forum in hopes of finding out where I may begin. Mostly my interests will be focused on building machines in order to make art or make machines which are themselves a work of art. My grandfather was a machinist and I acquired many of his old tools after my grandmother passed away, mostly old calipers and some analog measuring tools. This has also persuaded me as well to follow partially in his footsteps, thank you for reading!

You can check out some of my work if you are interested.
www.trentks.tumblr.com

Johnwa

Ultra Member
Hi Trent
Pretty impressive bunch of projects.
Just wondering if you've checked out the various maker spaces in Van. You'll likely find people with similar interest and of course some of the spaces will have lathes and mills.
Cheers
John

Trent ks

Hi John,