Suggest a Mill

casche

Hey all,

I’ve just joined to get some input. I’ll be shopping for my first mill soon once my shop space is completed.

Im an absolute beginner. I primarily make knives and would be looking for a mill suitable for that type of work.

Could I get some help realizing what the best options are ?

I’m in Nova Scotia and there doesn’t seem to be a lot of second hand bench mills in the classifieds here.

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Welcome Casche!

I'm in Ontario and I don't make knives.

But there are a few highly active members out your way. I'm sure you can get the help you need. A visit to one of their shops would be solid gold to you.

Welcome from Lillooet BC....
Our specialty here is trying to find new and creative ways of spending each other's money. Patience is key if you are looking for good used, also, be ready and willing to move quickly if you do find something that you like, as they don't last long when the deal is good.
How much bench space do you have available, as bench top machines can vary quite a bit in size? Is 220 volt available or are you limited to 110? I'm sure we will have more questions than answers, but with those two it gives us a starting point.

casche

Thanks.

I’m not limited to 110 and I can have a dedicated outlet.

Still ironing out the details but I’ll have roughly 750 sqr ft of shop space. A mill isn’t the most import tool I have so it can be sized appropriately.

Flexible on the budget but up to 4000 CAD is reasonable.

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
If you keep to knife making your milling requirements won't likely be large and a bench top milling machine will be sufficient. Of course bigger and more powerful almost anything is nicer but space and budgets often dictate otherwise.

Are you thinking about cnc milling for blanks and artwork on your knifes?

Welcome to the forum.

Last edited:

casche