Spend my money!

Darren

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Thinking about buying a 3d printer for a family Christmas gift. So a gift to myself , to make shop stuff , and my 10 year old boy would probably want to make some toys.

I'd like something easy to use out of the box. I don't want a project. I don't have time for a ton of learnin'. I'm a noob, so i'm guessing a lot of projects would be downloaded off of thingaverse. I will learn cad if i really need to make something. I am tech savvy, if need be.

I care more about quality than cost. I can't stand buying cheap junk that won't last. I have been doing research and it seems like a lot of people end up buying printer after printer. I'm more of a buy once, cry once kinda guy. I''d rather buy one good unit, learn it, and have it last 5+ years. That said, If i can get a great unit that meets my needs for a better price, I'm good with that.

I've been looking at the Bambu Labs P1S, Creality K1 Max v2, Bambu Carbon (more than i really want to spend)...etc.

Which one would you pick? Are there better options?

Thanks!

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
I understand that the Bambu Mini A1 is a great starter printer at a reasonable cost. If the size is appropriate for the things you'd like to print, here's two sample reviews, and the point at which conclusions are discussed:

To save time, start at "Pros and Cons" at 19:00

Modbot is a Canadian 3DP guy I trust. "final thoughts" at 18:13 will save time also.

-------------------

I keep putting off buying a 3D printer... Partly because I have someone that does the odd print for me. They are getting better and cheaper so fast I've won (so far) in waiting. If Creality fixes the few blemishes in the K1 and K1 max, I an attracted to them because they aren't a closed ecosystem. Sovol is catching up to Creality and Bambu.

You might consider buying the upgraded Prusa bedslinger - Janger has had a great user experience with it also.

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member