Chinese mini metal lathe differences?

JradM

I joined the forum because I'm interested in getting a mini lathe - I was happy to find a Canadian forum where it looks like there's lots of discussion and information on the topic. I've got no metal lathe experience - save my Youtube observations. :p

I've got questions I wouldn't mind some advice about right off the hop!

First, I notice that there's a lot of price disparity between what looks like pretty much the same machines, albeit from different "brand" names (in scare quotes since most of the brands sound like they were generated by random letter generators). I'm curious if there's anything significant differences or a consensus on which machine to buy in Canada?

I'm leaning towards the Vevor 7x14 550w with 21mm spindle bore.
71iegQd2WnL._SL1500_.jpg

It's $724.99 direct from Vevor, but $649 from 3rd party sellers on Amazon (or $800+ from Vevor on Amazon). Is it worth $75 to buy from the manufacturer? Do you get any better warranty that way?

"BestEquipe" also appears to sell the identical machine for $649 - Is that a real company? There's similar machines from Intbuying, PreAsion, EQCOTWEA and NUMOBAMS (these names...). They all look identical but more expensive. Numobams might be the exception since they claim brushless and higher-power motors on several of theirs - but the shipping cost makes them a LOT more money (maybe at that point the 8" machines would make more sense).

I see the 7"x12" is like $20-$50 cheaper, but I assume it's worth a few extra bucks to have a couple inches of extra working space in case I'm trying to drill.

Last thing - I found these for sale on Amazon, Vevor.ca, Walmart.ca and Aliexpress. Is there anywhere else I should be looking?

Thanks!

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
From all the reading online about these lathes, some are marginally better than others but they are all built to a price point.