Anybody still using Mach3?

SparWeb

I bought a CNC router!
It's old!

No it's not that bad, but it's a DIY project that the guy has picked at for almost 20 years. Still works, and tonight I have cut wood by jogging the cutter, just trying it out. Learning as I go.
The CNC software is installed on a geriatric Windows XP computer. Eventually the nostalgia will wear off, and I will want to upgrade to a newer machine and Mach4. For now it works so I'll be happy for a long time using it as-is.

I'm new to Mach3 and CNC in general, but in a previous life I worked with engineers programming and operating CNC machining centers. When I sent them a drawing I liked being involved with getting it right and asked a lot of questions. Let's see if I remember any of what they told me.

Are there any other Mach3 users out there, or has everyone moved over to Mach4?

20230915_195521 - Copy.jpg

slow-poke

Ultra Member
I have an islanded SBC running Mach3 under Win7 and it works fairly well. My hunch is if I ever connected this thing to the internet, MS would upgrade it and subsequently break it in a heartbeat, I'm letting sleeping dogs lie.

At the time I setup this machine, the general sense I got was that Mach4 was more buggy than Mach3, I'm not sure if that was actually true, would love to hear from anyone that has transitioned from 3 to 4.

I ran Mach3 on my diy router for years, just recently switched to UCCNC.
Only reason I switched is I got some closed loop steppers that:

a) could run faster and Mach 3 was hanging up when I increased the kernel frequency.
b) have an alarm pin on the stepper drive that was giving some false alarms (this was likely my own fault for no shielding on cables)

Anyways, the computer that ran this was getting flakey I tried to upgrade to a slightly less ancient computer and found out the Mach 3 parallel port driver only works on 32 bit systems, not 64.
I bought Mach 3 in 2007, figured it was due to upgrade.