Motion when locking the axis

Eyecon

I just received a PM-728 and working on setting it up. I’m fairly new to adjusting tapered gibs setup and I noticed that my X and Y axis move in the range of .0008-.0016” when I lock the axis. I’m assuming this is not normal and my gibs are too loose?

Also my Y axis gib moves up and down across the dovetail when I try to snug it with the thick side adjustment screw (I have a video but not sure how to share it here). I assume this means the gib is not making full contact on the matching dovetail or the taper angle is off and needs to be refitted?

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
The first thing you check is for sideways movement in the axis when locking the gibb. That is, you lock the X axis, but register the movement in the Y direction. Some movement is necessary. 8 tenths is not excessive. Excessive movement means the gibb is loose. On older machines .005-.010 is often seen. On a new machine, up to .002 is often seen in offshore machines. On a brand new Bridgeport, I think they hold it to a half thou or something. My Hartford was delivered with a similar tolerance. (but that was 43 years ago and 1000s of hours ago)

Eyecon

The first thing you check is for sideways movement in the axis when locking the gibb. That is, you lock the X axis, but register the movement in the Y direction. Some movement is necessary. 8 tenths is not excessive. Excessive movement means the gibb is loose. On older machines .005-.010 is often seen. On a new machine, up to .002 is often seen in offshore machines. On a brand new Bridgeport, I think they hold it to a half thou or something. My Hartford was delivered with a similar tolerance. (but that was 43 years ago and 1000s of hours ago)
Thank you this is very useful information. When measure the side ways movement, what’s the common place to take the measurements? Locking X and measuring movement in Y at the center of the table will result in much smaller number than on edges of the table for example