• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Hello from Ottawa, Ontario

Fermic

Hi everyone,
I am new to the hobby metal working and I strumbled on your canadian forum for metal workers by luck of online searching

In these times, I kinda want kill my boredem and learn something new in my life with metal working while I can.

And hopefully, the mess is sorted out and I can find a decent metal lathe with all features I want plus being fully metric.

My thread about this search for context is in hobby machinist with same profile name.

trlvn

Ultra Member
Welcome! I wasn't quite clear if you have any machines yet or if you are just starting out? It seems to me that more of the products available locally are inch-based rather than metric. OTOH, I haven't really searched for metric-based tools. What is it that is pushing you towards metric?

Either way, we're an easy-going group here and we'd love to see pictures and hear about what you're doing. Lots of folks will share their expertise, too.

Craig
(Some of us will even share when our "expertise" is pretty questionable!)

Fermic

Thanks for the welcome

I wasn't quite clear if you have any machines yet or if you are just starting out?