• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

D. Gray D&D - HEAVY DUTY KNURLING TOOL KIT

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Look forward to your build & testing. I cant figure out the knurled tension knob on these styles. I have limited experience but I've used:
- bump style knurlers ( work fine but too hard on parts & machine IMO)
- a very poorly made Asian contraption (not even worth mentioning)
- an Armstrong (USA made scissor style), decent but has some shortcomings IMO
- AccuTrak (better USA made scissor style). Both USA models presumed some kind of wrench to apply enough force on the scissor action & arguably had higher leverage mechanics relative to axle & wheel. Same deal for the Doug Ross knurler I attached YouTube link for in the other post.

I'm not picking on this design in particular because I have seen several variants in model engineering circles. But I'd be interested in how this style works with (only) finger torque tensioning. Do the instructions infer running the knurl back & forth with increasing tension or....?

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
Look forward to your build & testing. I cant figure out the knurled tension knob on these styles. I have limited experience but I've used:
- bump style knurlers ( work fine but too hard on parts & machine IMO)
- a very poorly made Asian contraption (not even worth mentioning)
- an Armstrong (USA made scissor style), decent but has some shortcomings IMO