• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

What's this arbor/center and what should I do with it?

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
Absolute beginner here, with 7x14 lathe...
The seller on AliExpress sent me this by mistake instead of the 'half cutaway' dead center I ordered.
unknown arbor dead center_sm.JPG
(The seller shipped the correct item quickly, so no problem there..)
It's MT2; the stub end taper included angle is 60 degrees. As a dead center for tubing it would seem to have a very limited range of use, and the end isn't harder metal.

What is it, and what can I use it for?

Thanks!

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
Tube center or a blank is about all that I can think of. BTB - None of my centers are what I would consider hard except for my carbide tipped MT3 dead center.

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
Thanks for all those ideas!
I think I'd need to make myself a work holder for that MT first, and that's not going to happen on my 7x14 minilathe.
I suppose I could buy a MT3 to MT2 adapter, and mount the MT3 in the headstock....I'll give that some thought. without a drawbar or recess for the tang, won't the MT just slip if I try to turn it?

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
Thanks for all those ideas!
I think I'd need to make myself a work holder for that MT first, and that's not going to happen on my 7x14 minilathe.