• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Welder/ Fab/ CAD Designer

Kris Jensen

Hi my name is Kris, I just Found this place and I hope it takes off. I am a Journeyman Welder with 5 years experience, Tig stainless is my specialty. I have 8 years of AutoCAD experience on and off. I enjoy camping and fly fishing, and my current project is a 5x4 CNC Plasma Cutter.

Cheers

Jwest7788

Joshua West
Administrator
Hey Kris,

Welcome to the forum. @Janger is working on a plasma CNC too. @kylemp has built a pretty impressive one himself too. Wealth of knowledge here for you.

Looking forward to seeing project pics!

JW

Janger

(John)
Administrator
Vendor
Wow. What motor control board and
approach are you using? What is the fourth motor controler for?

Hi Chris welcome,, I'm a lifer machinist retired to a small garage hobby shop. If you have your own tig, I may be able to send some work your way. Cool stuff you're building. I'm starting to play with some metal spinning.

Kris Jensen

Wow. What motor control board and
approach are you using? What is the fourth motor controler for?

Hey Janger,
It's a cheaper Chinese import breakout board and drivers I Don't remember the brand but the kit came from steppermotors online. The 4th driver/motor is going to be slaved with the Y axis to help move the gantry.