VFD - Do I understand this correctly???

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
ok.... kinda... I'm NOT a VFD expert. I've implemented a good setup and researched the crap on VFDS, and I understand that you'd be sensible to overbuy the capacity on a VFD from Offshore sources....

I bought a 2HP TECO 510 to power a 2HP motor (1500 watts)...

When I asked several guys that do this thing professionally, they said I'd need a 2,5KW offshore VFD to to the same job. When pressed, they made sounds like 'lower component quality, and poor quality control...

I'm looking at an offshore VFD for my 7.5HP lathe. I'm looking at 10 and 10.5 HP VFDs. My 2 cents.

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
I also went the Teco route for my mill. Primarily because I wanted as close to plug and play as I could get. I watched a series by Clough42 on Youtube where he replaces his lathe motor with a 3 ph and vfd. I highly recommend watching it.

Johnwa

Ultra Member
I have a 2.2kW Chinese Vfd on a 1.5hp motor and it works great. As far as Chinese sizing vs American sizing I really don’t know. Over rating the specs does not seem to be just a Chinese problem although sometimes they are the worst.
what do you have a 3hp motor on?

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
What do you have a 3hp motor on?

Nothing yet. This is what I'm contemplating. My mill has a 2 HP 1 PH 220 V motor. I'm thinking of upgrading the motor to 3 HP 3 PH 220 V and using a 220 V 1 PH to 220 V 3 PH VFD for speed control. By the sounds of things I should be looking at a 5 HP VFD for a 3 HP motor? Are all 3 PH motors VFD compatible? Am I missing some key detail? Just trying to figure out if this is feasible and what the cost would be.

Craig

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
@David_R8 When you installed your VFD what did you need a POT for?

For the variable speed control.
Edit: added pic.
The knob is for changing the frequency/speed and the switch is reverse/off/forward

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk