• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Mill and lathe advice

Trent ks

Hello! I am new to precision machining for the most part. I have checked around for machines at every tool store I can find to see what's available used. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on older mill types and which ones are common enough that I could find spare parts or components for them if I needed. I know there are a whole lot of models out there and my question is a bit vague, I'm trying to narrow my focus to a few brands, or maybe which brands to avoid! Thanks!

Sent from my SM-N900W8 using Tapatalk

Bridgeport is the most comon older manual mill. They can be expensive and there are many chinese copies made of them. It is a decent machine and it is easy to find parts on the internet. Any craftx mill from busybee tools is a less expensive option and parts are available if you need them. Force international is another cheap brand and they seem ok. I have a 2006 force knee mill and it still works great.

Really good brands are bridgeport, Excello, cincinati milling machine, fort worth milling machine. I have experience on all of these and they were all a cut above the rest.

I'd agree with Alex but you would need to be a bit more specific.. what are you planning on doing?