Hello from Surrey

DouglasFab

Hello all, from Surrey.

I'm a welder/fabricator from the lower mainland doing mostly structural steel looking to get into machining. Been lurking on the site for a while, trying to decide which lathe to buy. I figured it's time to sign up since I always end up back here anytime I browse equipment. The forum seems knowledgeable and friendly so I look forward to picking your brains and hopefully sharing some projects in the future!

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Welcome from Ontario. Lots of fabricators and welders on here. You will enjoy the common love. As your machinery skills and interests grow there are even more members to chat with.

YotaBota

Mike
Premium Member
Another island welcome and in case you hadn't noticed, we love to help people spend their money and at no charge. lol

DouglasFab

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone.

I noticed and am counting on it YotaBota! I finally signed up to see if anyone would talk me out of buying a new King 12x36, or in to a bigger used machine.

I have seen mixed reviews on the quality of King stuff and while I can't see a 12X36 before I buy it, the smaller models KMS has on display haven't looked great to me. I was hoping to buy something new and not need to do much clean up or adjusting but after some reading I think there will be a fair bit of setup involved new or used, so maybe a bigger or better quality used machine that needs a bit of work would be worth it.

I hate to be limited by my tools and tend to buy bigger than needed, I think that will help me fit in around here though. A 12x36 seems like it should be plenty, but I suspect there are some features I may not think to look for and regret not spending a bit more down the line. I want something that is very hard to justify replacing but I am happy to spend more on upgrades in the future.