• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Hello from SK

Brian H

Super User
I just discovered this forum today. It seems to have a lot of folks that have many of the same interests I do. I am a carpenter by trade, but, have always had an interest in machining and such. In the last few years I have had the opportunity to pursue knife making as a hobby and have acquired a few machines to build all my own tooling for. I have a bench top mill (of the Princess Auto variety) which I have spent time adjusting and tweaking and have enjoyed trying to make pieces and parts that I can. I also have built my own 2x72 belt grinder and propane fueled forge. I am feeling a very strong urge to posses a bench-top lathe, however, finances aren't allowing me to get the one of my dreams just yet.

I am looking forward to reading about other peoples experiences and advice on different aspects of this hobby.

CalgaryPT

Ultra Member
Vendor
Premium Member
Welcome Brian. You're in good company here. There are other knife makers in the forum (not me, but they are here). Where abouts in SK are you?

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Well you've got a mill already you simply HAVE TO get a lathe also! I think most people start with a lathe then get a mill, but I could be wrong.