Good Day From Chestermere

RobinHood

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Howdy,

No my name is not Tubal Cane or Robin Hood. But I do like machining and archery a lot. So much so that both are pretty passionate hobbies of mine. I have been involved in archery for about 45 years and was introduced to machining/metal working in High School. Never had any machines until about 3-4 years ago - other than the common hand tools/power tools used to rebuild a house or work on vehicles.

Then I needed to make this special bushing for one of my bows: SAE id with Metric od. Could not find anything off the shelve so I bought a lathe to make one... The rest is pretty much history.

Some of the equipment that "plugs up" my small shop includes: a second (bigger) lathe, milling machine, shaper, surface grinder, tool & cutter grinder, pantograph, metal band saw, welder, and tons of tooling.

I make my living operating machines that go really fast and far. So I do very much appreciate what the pro machinist/metal works do every day; it helps me get home safely. A big Thank You to all of them out there!

Cheers, Rudy

Alexander

Ultra Member
Administrator
Cool man. I do a little archery as well just target practice with a recurve bow. Glad to have you as a new form member. Sounds like your garage is likely packed solid. Thanks for shairing.

RobinHood

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Alexander, that's all I do: Compound Target.

The deal with the Better Half is as long as she can still park her vehicle in the garage I can get more stuff (within limits of course)... So I got very good at putting machines on casters and stacking them tightly. Not the ideal situation when I just need one for a small job, as it requires a lot of extra time to get it done...

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Welcome Rudy. Look forward to your projects. We like pics!
Love the Top Gun Pilot avatar, made me chuckle.

RobinHood

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Thanks PeterT!