Tips/Techniques ELS discussion. Options. Experiences.

Tips/Techniques

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Perhaps formulae could be employed to calculate the feed force?

Here is an article that delves into the subject of lathe power required. They do calculate the feed force as well.

Thanks @RobinHood! Looks like I have some reading to do tomorrow.....

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
I have read - and I have no experience here - that typical socket type torque wrenches are inaccurate at rotation rates above a very low minimum. Something very well emphasized by the guys that make wireless torque devices for higher RPM applications.

I'm not partisan here, I'll check both methods against one another...

To be clear, the torque needs to be checked doing a cut at some traversing speed, say .007 per rev at 300 RPM or something, which might translate to .210 ips leade or 1.6 RPS - just under 100 RPM on an 8TPI lead screw.

ducdon

Super User
Premium Member
YES I am an C0636 owner. I would be willing to participate in a group focused on the C0636. However Electronic Lead Screws, digital readouts and such aren't currently in my budget or on my agenda.

Last edited:

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
I have read - and I have no experience here - that typical socket type torque wrenches are inaccurate at rotation rates above a very low minimum. Something very well emphasized by the guys that make wireless torque devices for higher RPM applications.

I can see that. Prolly a result of large variations and data rates too slow to digitize and track them. An analog manual gauge might be better. But you have me on this one too. I just don't know.

gerritv

Gerrit