Center drilling problems

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
Beginner here, using a 7x mini lathe. I need some help with a problem center drilling.
Sometimes it's straightforward, but often I get the following problem: When I advance the center drill into the spinning workpiece, the drill 'kicks' off center by about a mm (or two) and then proceeds to cut a small circle with a 'pip' in the center. NB this is a 'mini-lathe' so nothing about the tailstock is extremely solid, but it is adjusted to be on-center. Is this a problem with the tailstock, the drill (I've tried a few), the speed of rotation of the work, or a technique issue? I usually don't advance the drill very forcefully into the workpiece; should I? This happens with both brass and steel workpieces, and not every time, so it is frustrating. I generally have to re-face the part and try again, and sometimes that does the trick. Any hints would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
Is there play in the tailstock
There's as little as I can manage - it's only really solid when the quill lock is full on, but then I can't advance the drill. The tailsotck is solid, but the quill isn't. I thought the idea was that the drill should 'self-center' on a spinning workpiece?

PaulL

Technologist at Large
Premium Member
I had this problem early on (only weeks ago!). I height-centered my facing cutter better, getting rid of every trace of a little nubbin at the center of the face and now my centers go in better and I break fewer center drills. Though I still blow them out too often.

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
I had this problem early on (only weeks ago!). I height-centered my facing cutter better, getting rid of every trace of a little nubbin at the center of the face and now my centers go in better and I break fewer center drills. Though I still blow them out too often.