Beginner Question: Turning a recess

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
Baby steps here....
Today's project: Flywheel for a simple small model engine (Wobbler/Oscillating cylinder type - absolute beginner project)
Material 2" 1018 steel

recess.JPG

Central boss is about 12mm diameter, recess is about 12mm wide.

I went through my collection of lathe tools trying to do this 'little job' ("Where did the day go???").
I got the recess starrted with a bunch of different turning tools, mostly using the 'point' of a 90 deg carbide insert tool. That worked OK for the central part of the recess, but working out to the edges was the challenge. The recess is pretty narrow and it's difficult to fit a tool in there without part of it rubbing.
I ended up using a boring bar-type tool, cutting the outer part of the recess 'normally' , then running the lathe in reverse and cutting 'from the back' to work to the central boss.
boring bar tool.JPG
What's the right way ('standard method') to do this?

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
If you use HSS, grind a facing tool with a lot of relief, around 20 degrees - or you can grind a trepanning tool, and then finish with a regular LH lathe tool.

In the carbide world, it hets a little trickier. I stick with HSS for this purpose.

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member
If you use HSS, grind a facing tool with a lot of relief, around 20 degrees - or you can grind a trepanning tool, and then finish with a regular LH lathe tool.

In the carbide world, it gets a little trickier. I stick with HSS for this purpose.
Thanks. With a facing tool, just plunging it into the face of the disk in the middle of the recess area and working outward-- like using a RH turning tool to plunge cut? I can't picture that being successful with my 7x14 lathe, but perhaps I'm not understanding what you mean, or perhaps I don't understand how a facing tool cuts.

I think the HSS tool I ground is similar to a trepanning tool?

VicHobbyGuy

Ultra Member