• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Anyone have experience with 3D printers?

Jwest7788

Joshua West
Administrator
I'm looking into purchasing a basic 3d printer to get my hands wet with the tech. I know it will be an avenue to learn much about cad, cam, steppers, etc.

As I am a total beginner to this field, looking for recommendations on bare bones beginner printers.

So far I have M3d as a ready made setup, or Folger Tech's Prusa i3 as a kit based setup.

You'll note that both of those are below $400 all in. I'm aiming for as inexpensive as I can to see if it's something that will continue to hold my interest like metal working has. I would hate to invest much more just to later decide it's not for me.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

P.s. I made an off topic section for this post, haha.

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom O

Ultra Member
I have a Makerbot replicator 2 they can be quite useful but it does require cad experience mind you learning the basics isn't that bad or you could print off of thingiverse. Instead of throwing hundreds at it I'd join protospace and learn on theirs and take their cad course it is a win in my eyes.
That way you could see what you want in a printer and what they are capable of doing. There are other considerations too mostly the size of print the machine is capable of and if it uses support material for overhangs which requires a two head system.

Mphenley

Premium Member