Shop Under bench storage carts

Shop

Mcgyver

Ultra Member
Another project crossed off the list. My shop is split between garage and basement and most of the basement is small stuff where you sit at bench. Forever out of space, I had an idea of making small carts on casters. They sit in unused space under the bench and easily roll out for access. There is one as a file rack (with 3D printed file holders), one for a tool box (holding various unimat and watch lathe accessories) and another for boxed watch lathe stuff - the boxes that can be placed on top of the cart for easy access. My first adventure with a track saw..... everyone needs one! All from a 4x8 sheet of 3/4" oak plywood (nominally, even plywood has experienced shrinkflation. grrrrr) . The woodworking isn't aesthetically perfect, but I'm a beginner and learned a lot. They function perfectly :)

20231007_115704-1300x1300.jpg

20231008_074946-1300x1300.jpg

20231008_160057-1300x1300.jpg

20231010_190827-1300x1300.jpg

20231028_151845-1300x1300.jpg

20231028_152010-1300x1300.jpg

20231028_151853-1300x1300.jpg

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Holy crap! You should change your avatar to Mr File.

You and I should start a dolly wheel company. I LOVE rolling storage! Yours is way better looking than mine.

I really need a 3D printer. I'm sooooo jealous!

Dan Dubeau

Ultra Member
Somebody's been busy. Looks great Mike, and I love that file rack. I have some underutilized space under the bench by the CNC, and a heaping pile of files that need a better way to be stored......You've just given me an idea.

Woodwork looks great too. Strong and sturdy and would look right at home in the living room too.