• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Stainless Steel Collets

architect

Super User
Anyone able to help out a member with making a set of stainless collets for my motorcycle pegs? As a beginner, I haven't been able to spend much time on my lathe and need these asap for my motorcycle while we still have some warm weather...

Images/idea came from a motorcycle forum adapting the footpeg:

machine a little collet out of stainless about 1/2 long and thread the inside the same as the Rizoma. The we cut the head of the Rizoma supplie bolts to make a short 1 inch piece of "all thread" and assembled the parts with LocTite and installed them...

1723049163499.webp
1723049176258.jpeg
1723049217133.webp

I realize the first post may not be so clear. I'm just looking for the M8 collets (as per sketch dimensions, not drawn in scale) that threads onto existing footpegs (diagram). It threads onto the footpeg on the M8 side that basically extends the 6mm nub shown on diagram. The result is the photo (6mm nub + collet) connected together via a piece of M8 size "all thread" bolt.

Last edited:
Well if no one closer to you offers help I can make them for you. I'll check to see if I have any 5/8" round 303 in my inventory. Does it have to be 303 or would 316 be ok?

I already made the same offer by PM. But I'm closer than you. On the other hand, I have no SS like that on hand, so we would have to buy some.