• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Some questions about foundry building

binaryclock03

Hello all, first post here.
Got some questions for you more experienced peeps.

I'm a student who's quite interesting in melting and casting metals. I started with the whole king of random bucket one with a simple steel foundry I made in shop class. Now I've moved onto my next foundry design which is a little more professional. Its a simple hexagonal steel bin thing I welded together with ceramic wool on the inside for insulation, and yes before you say anything, I've sealed the wool and I still always use a respirator with it. Currently I'm finding that the ceramic wool is slowly melting and degrading, and most importantly, I just pulled out the stuff lining the bottom of my foundry after it melted to my crucible :/ . I was wondering if you guys could suggest some kind of hard refractory to put at the bottom to place my crucible on. I've been looking at satanite. Put a bit at the bottom and some lining the ceramic wool to protect it a bit. And then seal all that with ITC 100.

Is this a good design? (Im using propane)
If not what is?