Proximity sensors??

Arbutus

Super User
Premium Member
The application is a precision core drill for boring glass blocks.

The machine must detect the glass surface within -0.000/+0.001 (or better) repeatability. This positions the tool correctly. It is important that there is no contact with the glass surface.

I have never used these and have some questions before finalising the design.

How 'precise' are these sensors?
Are they adjustable for sensitivity or trip point in software?
Does particulate debris such as sub-micron glass dust affect the sensor?

Any and all advice appreciated!

Don

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
I use inductive proximity switches as limit switches on my CNC router. The switches are from Automation Direct and they were not cheap. One thing I noticed is that they work fantastic on steel but lousy on aluminum.
You will definitely need capacitive switches to sense glass.

Janger

(John)
Administrator
Vendor
Don - just curious why do you need such precision? What is the purpose of the glass blocks if you can say? Why can’t the surface be touched? A renishaw probe would give you the accuracy but they touch of course. Interesting problem.

Arbutus

Super User
Premium Member
Don - just curious why do you need such precision? What is the purpose of the glass blocks if you can say? Why can’t the surface be touched? A renishaw probe would give you the accuracy but they touch of course. Interesting problem.
I cant say much here - the application is for the fiber optic manufacturing industry. One glass block is 1000x300x300mm annealed extremely pure glass. One slug costs about $20,000 before it is bored. End faces are prepped and cannot be contaminated by debris or scratching. Everything else is under NDA!

Don

Last edited by a moderator:

Arbutus

Super User
Premium Member