• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Tips/Techniques Organizing steel.

Tips/Techniques
I need some ideas on how to organize my steel. Right now I have a large pile on the floor in one place that I am constantly tripping over, another pile in an out of the way corner where it is very difficult to find anything at the back, and another pile of shorts on a table that is consuming valuable table top space. I've tried keeping things in pails but eventually the weight was too much and the plastic disintegrated.

I'm not a production shop but collections of materials for several upcoming projects plus reserves adds up. It seems to make sense to keep pieces for specific projects together but these pieces often include collections of vastly different sizes. How do you guys store your steel??? And if you have stock of known type like 4041 and 12L14 how do you keep track of which is what???

Commercial shops end mark barstock with colour coding, red for 4140, orange for 4340, etc. No markings is usually for 1075 or lower grades.

"do as I say, not as I do"

So far I have a few special things, such as D2 marked, but mostly I just remember where I put it, and what it is. Perhaps I should improve that part of my organization?

This was my solution to the storage problem. I have a few other drawers, and corners with material stacked in them too.

https://canadianhobbymetalworkers.com/threads/mobile-stock-storage-rack.6655/#post-143738