• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Newb from Ontario

Boltgun

Hi all!

Boltgun here...board name, real name is Mark. I am a novice machiner budding late in life...retired but got lots of years left in me. Here to learn and hopefully buy machines at some point.

Regards
Boltgun

TOBARApprentice

Super User
Welcome to the group. I’m in Ancaster and Lake of Bays (Summer). Are you just starting in this abyss or have you been at it a while? Are you a South Bend or Atlas guy or something more larger? Come on Mark..... give us a bit of the background.

Cheers

Derek

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boltgun

Derek,

I am retired Law Enforcement. Have been into shooting since I was 14 and as part of my LE background, I was an armorer and oversaw the armorer work for my agency. It developed into a desire to do gunsmithing which has further developed into metal working period. My biggest issue is splitting funds between hobbies - LOL. I have a king lathe 12x36. I haven't used it yet. Plan on getting it set up shortly. I would love to get my hands on a BP clone in the 9x42 size. I also wanna get into knife making and welding....champagne taste on a beer man's salary.

Mark

TOBARApprentice

Super User