• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

New to threading: Need to make male threaded cap

va2fsq

Hi,
I'm new to threading never having done this before. I have a telescope that has a small polar scope that fits into the polar axis of the mount. I want to replace this whole thing with a threaded cap since it sticks out too far.
So the threaded part of the polar scope is 24tpi, and it is 1.016 inches in diameter. The hole where the cap will go in (female part) is 0.967 ".
So I want to make the part out of Delrin or Brass,
How do I start? Do I just machine the outside diameter of the male part to 1.016 and then make the threads 1.016 - 0.967" = 0.049 deep?
Thanks, Tom

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
So, you're measuring OD of the male threaded part and ID of the female threaded part?

Sounds to me you're on the right track.

Aluminum might be another option to and easier to source.

Last edited:

RobinHood

Ultra Member
Premium Member
How do I start? Do I just machine the outside diameter of the male part to 1.016 and then make the threads 1.016 - 0.967" = 0.049 deep?

Hi Tom,

That is basically correct. Have a look at this website, it’s all about threading. http://theoreticalmachinist.com/Threads_UnifiedImperial.aspx

Your thread depth will actually be 0.049 / 2 = 0.0245. That falls within the tolerance as shown here for a 1”-24TPI UNS, 3A thread.
151665D5-46B1-4A4C-9197-2B73A2AC46A3.jpeg
Not that that really matters since you are making a custom cap to fit your application...