Lost-wax casting for jewelry help.

MetalGem

Hello!

My name is Crystal! I have no clue if I have reached the right people to help me with this, but I was referred to this lovely forum by a fellow jeweller. I am working on a small project of making jewelry using a lost-wax casting process. I have all the materials to create the jewelry (wax, gems, metal, polishing etc), but I do not have the resources to complete the metal casting portion myself. If anyone has the tools and supplies to create the moulds and cast the metal for the wax sculpture, please reach out; I would love to work with you! If anyone could even perhaps point me in a better direction to get help for this, I would greatly appreciate it as well! I have no experience working with metal, but I'd love to learn!

Please let me know if anyone has any questions!
I am located in Calgary.

Thank you :)

kevin.decelles

Jack of all trades -- Master of none
Premium Member
Welcome Crystal! I’m sure there will be someone who has gone down this road. I dabbled with lost PLA casting but put it on hold pending building/buying a vacuum table.

The investment ($$$) isn’t crazy and they make small units for that exact purpose

Perry

Ultra Member
Hi Crystal, welcome to the group. Calgary based also. :)

I can not help, but you are in the right place and I'm sure there will be someone here that is into the casting.

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Crystal, hopefully someone here can help you here. The only person off the top of my head that has recently been posting on this process is @Mcgyver
Some other possible leads:

Kens Gems in NE Calgary. They sell the equipment & supplies for this trade. On one of my visits, couple years ago now, I asked if there was anyone of their clients they could refer who was doing custom casting when supplied with (just) a wax 'original'. The lady working there named dropped someone but I didn't follow up on it.