Lathe Spindle Bearing Temps

I was just told by China that it is normal for a Spindle bearing to heat up to 60-70c.

Doesn't seem right to me but I have no experience with this.

What say you?

Thats hot IMHO. I have never seen either my lathe or mill (even driven close top double the speed with VFD) anywhere near close to those temps. Warm (maybe conbsidered hot) to the touch, but nowhere near that.

Brent H

Ultra Member
If your lathe is powered by an internal combustion engine I can see bearing temps in that area but not for a conical or ball or roller bearing.

From the attached chart you will see that it is possible to run a high tolerance conical bearing at 66C for up to 24 hours - that is like the MAX and after 24 hours you probably no longer have a high tolerance bearing. With proper lubrication I could see a bearing running (with load) at about 35 to 50 C MAX 70C is HOT for this type of bearing use.

Attachments

• Timken-Temperature-Guidelines-for-Roller-Bearing-Installation-Sell-Sheet_10212.pdf
    97.8 KB · Views: 7

whydontu

I Tried, It Broke
Premium Member
I’m going to say no way. Spindle and headstock are huge heat sinks, only way a bearing would get that hot is if the bearing is mis-aligned or the lubrication is non-existent. Anyone out there with an IR thermometer want to run some tests?

SKF info for heavy industrial use:

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
I can imagine that a really high speed (6000+rpm) bearings could run that hot with no concern but if it is low speed (<3000rpm) I would be worried there is some friction going on that shouldn't be. I'm no expert however. Are these new bearings and at what speed and load?

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
The max temp a well running machine should get is about 80F, maybe a degree or 2 more.

That's it. Babbitt or bronze bushing machine, well when it gets over 80F, time for a rest. Bert's SB lathe with bronze bushings never got warm to the touch, even after an hour of use.