• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Lathe dilemma

GlenB

Ok here is my dilemma I am new to hobby I have a atlas 10f lathe bought it very cheap but doesn't have a quick change gear box or any of the gears for threading also need a tool post . Now I have a opertunity to buy a husky with all they above for 500 it needs a good cleaning and I do think that there maybe a couple broken gears that the owner new when he bought it but said it don't bother him me it would they would need to be replaced so I guess I'm asking for opinions and comments and yes have thought of both but no room. Plus husky would have to be taken apart and reassembled in my basement any thoughts

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
I'd buy it! You can make one complete lathe out of the 2 and sell the extra. It will give someone else a starter!

GlenB

The husky which I've learned is a busy bee model from the 70s is complete and I would have to sell the atlas and because I'm so new haven't Evan made serious chips off it but that's the way I'm leaning

Tom Kitta

Ultra Member
There is a bit too little info for me to make a call. As I understand you cannot thread with the current lathe and cannot do any power feed. Also you don't have a tool post. You don't mention anything else about the lathe.