HQ500 4-Jaw chuck?

BrassMonkey

Hello i just bought used a HQ500 mill/lathe combo. I have a question about it.
I don't understand the compatibilities of different lathe parts yet. I am new to machining and have lots to learn.
Am i able to install a 4 jaw lathe chuck on this machine? If so, which ones?

Hello i just bought used a HQ500 mill/lathe combo. I have a question about it.
I don't understand the compatibilities of different lathe parts yet. I am new to machining and have lots to learn.
Am i able to install a 4 jaw lathe chuck on this machine? If so, which ones?
I just tried looking up your machine, I see that a 4 jaw and faceplate etc are available, but so far can't see what the spindle nose is to hold it on..... Hopefully some others with the same machine will chime in shortly.

Rauce

Ultra Member
Do i have to take anything apart to get this picture? im a noob. Explain it to me like i am 5yrs old.
ideally take whatever chuck is on there off and take a picture of where the chuck mounts.

Alternatively just take a picture up close of the side of the chuck where it mounts.

Before you take anything apart, can you see how the chuck attaches to the spindle? Some thread on, some bolt on and some are held with locking pins.......

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Mt4 is the taper inside the spindle, not sure about the 28mm though......
28 mm is probably the spindle bore but that seems awful big for such a small machine. Maybe it is the OD of the spindle threaded shank. If so, there should also be a thread pitch dimension.

@BrassMonkey - what is the brand name of the company that makes the machine?

If you have a manual, look for something that says what the chuck mount or spindle mount is.

Rauce

Ultra Member
If the manual says MT4 in the spindle then the bore is gonna be around 28mm. MT4 is 31.3mm on the big end. Not that uncommon on a machine that size.