• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Hi, What’s up? Hello, From Calgary

molyknow

Alex
Premium Member
Hi everyone,

I have been a member of the forums for a little over a month now I think, and have been lurking a bit. I figured it’s time I post an introduction! My name is Alexander (alex is fine) and I currently reside in Calgary. When there is not a pandemic going on I am an industrial design student at OCAD University in Toronto. I have a pretty broad set of interests from cycling to textile and soft good design. I have a little business doing textile work, if you need something sewn, let me know and maybe we can work something out! As far as machining goes, I have a bit of experience through school using a bridge port clone and a good amount of of time on a pair of king lathes. I also work (ed?) at my schools rapid prototyping lab running 3D printers (I have a prusa mark III here in Calgary) and laser cutters (we just got a water jet cutter but the school shut due to covid - 19 before I could use it...) Here in Calgary I share a mostly woodworking shop with my father, on more of the metal side we have a grizzly wood/“metal” mill, a Shopbot desktop with a spindle, a Millermatic 211 and a Everlast tig/plasma combo machine. Recently we decided to take the leap a purchase a lathe and acquired a Holbrook c10 from modern tool. It’s being delivered on the 30th and I can’t wait....

I could ramble for days, if you have any questions or would like to chat let me know.

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member