• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Hi from Vancouver

futnuh

Darran
Hi All. I'm based in Vancouver and brand new to metal work - my last project was the keychain shown below, made in school 30 years ago ;-) Actually I'm fairly new to fabrication in general. For the last 15 years I've run a small company that makes digital interactives for museums and science centres. This work has put me on the periphery of fabrication, looking in at all kinds of interesting custom work in wood, plastic and metal. A couple of years ago I joined the Vancouver MakerLabs with the aim of being able to make things myself. Being a software guy, I'm drawn to CNC. All of my work so far though has been working in wood on a ShopBot (like the Scrabble wall shown). I'm just starting on MakerLabs' Tormach PCNC 1100 mill. I've only done some a bit of conversational facing, pocketing and engraving in aluminum and steel (like the drawbar nut wrench photo).

I'm really happy to have discovered this forum. I'm afraid that I'm going to be more of a question than answer person for the foreseeable future. Please bear with me.

My plans for the near future:
1) Get comfortable on the Tormach working conversationally with aluminum.
2) Since I'm now pretty decent in Fusion 360 (design and CAM), learn to post to the Tormach from Fusion
3) I'm really interested in learning metal lathe ... with an eye to CNC lathe. Unfortunately MakerLabs doesn't yet have a metal lathe, CNC or manual :-(