• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Hi from Hamilton Ontario

I'm a total machinist newbie currently with a MIG welder, stick welder, a couple of 9" model A South Bend lathes and looking for a milling machine. One lathe is under restoration. Using tons of hobby machinist resources online which is mostly American. Having trouble sourcing supplies here in Canada so looking for local Canadian advice/pointers.

trlvn

Ultra Member
Wecome from Oakville.

Post what you want and maybe one of us has or will come across whatever it is that you need. There is also a guy just down in Caledonia (Wayne) that buys/sells a fair amount of small lathe stuff via Kijiji. Prices are not cheap but he might have what you need.

BTW, you say you have two lathes and one is under restoration. Does that mean the other lathe is working or is a donor machine?

Craig

Hi trivn, Yes my first South Bend is operational and I've been doing some beginner projects on it. Wanted to post a pic of it but now not sure I'm allowed yet? In any case thanks to everyone for the welcome messages!