• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Help understanding machining tolerance

To start, I'm a hobbiest amateur.

I have a component that I have modeled. I'm looking to have this sent off and machined but I'm not sure I understand machining tolerances etc.

There are a few things like the 4 peripheral mount holes, central mount holes, center bore that need to be maintained within a reasonable tolerance.

This is where my understanding of tolerance falls apart.

The largest dimension of this unit is about 97mm
If I get it machined to a tolerance of 1/1000 then the largest dimension of the bolt holes should still working out...
...But This can't be how things work out. This would mean that any part that needs even slightly better tolerance over a certain size would not be possible to manufacture.
...So this is not the correct understanding. There must be a level of tolerance lower than 1/1000 that would get me a component that still fits well within my needs.

Finally to my question:
What level of machining tolerance does one need for a component? More importantly, how is it defined and how does it play out on a component such as this? Motor mount v12.png

RobinHood

Ultra Member
Premium Member