Hello from Winnipeg

Complete newbie.
Have been fascinated by machines for far too long.
gluing and shaping metal.

Few questions for any other Manitobans.
Where in Winnipeg is good for Metals scrap, Steel/Aluminum in small sizes at reasonable prices, and a machine shop for things I can't do yet?

I have it in my head to build a tiny hobby machine shop of my own over whatever years I have left.
Starting from pretty much nothing but an angle grinder.

Bandit

Super User
Welcome from south of Calgary. Wow, you have an angle grinder to start out!!! I think I had a rusty file and some scrap, oh and a leg vise.

Thanks for the greetings. Sent out a couple of requests for price for some 1/2 steel plate today. Owww. They certainly saw me coming. It's pretty clear that I will be spending most of my time going to scrappers, kijiji and facebook. For you twice the price and bring your own forklift.

StevSmar

(Steven)
Premium Member
Welcome from the Transcona part of Winnipeg!

Like you I’m just starting out and finding metal has been a learning experience.

I have purchased structural steel from RNR Steel:
http://www.rnrsteel.ca/Products/products.html

Although I’ve never shopped there, I’ve heard from other forum members that small quantities of machinable metal can be purchased from New West metals:

I haven’t tried using scrap metal for machining following the advice that until I know how to machine, I should stick with known types of metal.

Finding supplies has been another learning experience, I’m happy to share what little I know via PM if you’d like.

Welcome from the Transcona part of Winnipeg!

Like you I’m just starting out and finding metal has been a learning experience.

I have purchased structural steel from RNR Steel:
http://www.rnrsteel.ca/Products/products.html

Although I’ve never shopped there, I’ve heard from other forum members that small quantities of machinable metal can be purchased from New West metals: