• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Hello from Prescott Russell Ontario

retintin

(Steve)
Hi all, looking forward to some good discussions. I am glad I found this forum, I have lots of questions.

I am new to machining, it's a hobby for me so I started small. Picked up a CX709 lathe last year and this week I added a CX601 mill. I am hoping to make what I need for basic maintenance around the property and some restoration projects.

I am in the process of setting it up the new mill and I was wondering what is the acceptable runout for the spindle? The documentation says it should be 0.0006" on the spindle nose but I am getting 0.0010". I realize that I can't expect high level of precision from an import but I am wondering what is acceptable.

Steve

Welcome from Lillooet BC.
Sorry I don't have the spindle run out answers that you are looking for, but, rest assured, the smarter guys will be along shortly. ;)

trlvn

Ultra Member
This one, right?

CX601__56627.1584972366.jpg

Could you take pictures of your measurement setup so we can see how you are determining the runout? Everything has to be spotlessly clean to get reliable results in the sub 1/1,000 range. I believe you should be measuring inside the R8 spindle, as well.

Craig

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Welcome from Ontario farmland south of Chatham.