• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Hello from Port Coquitlam

RickD

Hi,
I'm a semi-retired telecom engineering tech and I'm just learning to weld. My inspiration is my son, who is a professional welder/fabricator, and has convinced me that welding and metalworking is a great way to spend my time.
I'm looking forward to connecting with others on the forum.
Rick

CalgaryPT

Ultra Member
Vendor
Premium Member
Welcome Rick. I'm retired out here in Calgary. I've been hobby welding and fooling around with electronics for about 40 yrs. now. I'm more on the fabrication and welding side of the hobby and work with steel only.

Port Coquitlam is so pretty.

Marc Moreau

Marc Moreau
Welcome from Gatineau Quebec I am a retired mechanic . I have no problem to weld steel but aluminium ??? I have a tig welder lucky my son weld aluminium . Nice hobby many youtube you can see . Look on youtube you see different guy's so you get an idea. Practice make perfect.

RickD

I need lots of practice! So far, this has involved about 4.5 hours of time on each of 4 processes, during a basic Continuing Studies course at BCIT. One more class coming up, sometime in the future when the school reopens. I was able to try out:
  • oxyacetylene welding, which I liked because it is easy to understand and fairly slow-paced, once you get used to lighting and adjusting the torch.