• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Hello from Chilliwack BC.

JReimer

Hi everyone on Canadian Hobby Metal Workers.

I have stumbled on this website a couple times and have been wanting to get into metalworking more and more. I happened onto a vintage metal lathe that I thought would be fun to restore, thanks to the guys here I now now it to be a W.F. & John Barnes Co. lathe from around 1900-1920. I have been impressed with the help and conversation and look forward to further and future conversations with all of you. I am new to machining but have a design background (I work in Architecture) and I look forward to learning from, and seeing how I can contribute, to this site.

Nice to meet you all.

deleted_user

Super User
Hi everyone on Canadian Hobby Metal Workers.

I have stumbled on this website a couple times and have been wanting to get into metalworking more and more. I happened onto a vintage metal lathe that I thought would be fun to restore, thanks to the guys here I now now it to be a W.F. & John Barnes Co. lathe from around 1900-1920. I have been impressed with the help and conversation and look forward to further and future conversations with all of you. I am new to machining but have a design background (I work in Architecture) and I look forward to learning from, and seeing how I can contribute, to this site.

Nice to meet you all.
so are you a fan of Sarah Susanka or no?

JReimer

Sarah Susanka