• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Greetings from Winnipeg

TheClyde

I am a mechanically inept software engineer type person who is trying to get dirty hands doing 'real' work.
Played around with a CNC3018 a few years back but found I got pulled too much into the software/cad side of things and not actual work. So I decided to try and generate some manual skills. Starting to get a bit of a yuppie workshop in the basement - quite a few of the base tools I have ever wanted (or some variation there of) but they are mostly unused so far.
Did a bit of wood turning last year - damn that is fun.
My cheap ass vevor 7x12 metal lathe arrived today, so yay - gonna be fun

whydontu

I Tried, It Broke
Premium Member
Welcome from Vancouver

My 3018CNC experience is the exact opposite. Once I found a piece of software that I understand, I haven’t touched the controller / software side. But the hardware components keep on getting tweaked…

TheClyde

Welcome from Lillooet BC.
Have no fears, we'll set you straight and find new and creative ways to spend your money on things you had no idea that you needed. :cool:

I think my next project is going to be finding a place to get stock material at a reasonable price. I am sure there has to be a metal sales shop in this city.

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member