• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Greetings from Paris Ontario

Matthew

Greetings all. I am new to the hobby. I turned my first project recently a clevis pin for the tractor on a lathe older than I am. And it amazingly fitted the tractor first time. The hardest skill to learn so far has been learning to read and understand a micrometer. Not to mention all the other things I don't even know I don't know yet.

CalgaryPT

Ultra Member
Vendor
Premium Member
Welcome from Calgary. Because I am more on the fabrication side of the hobby, and do little machining, I often forget how to read mine as well. Here's the video I always go back to (if you don't already know about it):

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Hello from farmland south of Chatham.

Nobody knows what they don't know. But I do know that the more you know the more you know you don't know.

I think maybe there is an Ontario epidemic of new members. Gotta watch that those Prairie guys don't get jealous or institute some social distancing to cramp our style.

Can't picture this clevis pin you made on your lathe. How about a photo? With the tractor!

Last edited:

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
Welcome from Calgary. Because I am more on the fabrication side of the hobby, and do little machining, I often forget how to read mine as well. Here's the video I always go back to (if you don't already know about it):

You too eh. Every time I dig mine out I have to read the instructions LOL.

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member