First post, sort of.

djberta

Premium Member
I joined here a couple years ago but never posted. Ran in to Dabbler on the hobby machinist forum and figured I should at least have a presence here on the local forum.

I am currently split between Airdrie and Leduc. Changed careers at 50+ last year and took a big leap in moving. The market around Calgary is unreal. So I lived in our rv from may to oct, with plans to stay in the rv over winter. Some thing I was not really ready to do. We found a house we could afford as we would need to own both homes at the same time. We found a bank foreclosure that we could afford, with some real issues in Airdrie. I am an electrician by trade. So New job, career and a top to bottom house reno to deal with. When it rains it pours.

I now have several lathes and a mill. First lathe is my hand made gingery lathe that I made when I was a teen, still have it, likely have it till I am no longer here as I have a lot of pride in making it. Second is a busybee 9x20 (2006). Third is a standard modern ultilathe 9 inch. Mill is a rongfu 30. I have been sort of machining things for some time, but I have no formal training. Self taught with most guidance from books and videos. I have experience casting aluminum and 3d printing, among many hobbies.

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
We
I joined here a couple years ago but never posted. Ran in to Dabbler on the hobby machinist forum and figured I should at least have a presence here on the local forum.