• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

DRO resurrection?

Kilohertz

Slightly left of Vernon, BC
Hi guys

My new to me 1999 craftex 30 had a sort of 3 axis DRO on it, connected to a laptop (now missing). It was a home built circuit board connected to the printer port, and some gear driven sensors, I’m going to guess it would be difficult to get this functional again, I am an electronics tech but I would think there are better ways to do this now.

A few pictures of what’s there.

Any recommendations for a DRO for this RF30 clone?

Thanks

CCDD3CCB-457E-4CCE-9D14-274F4CA301D8.jpeg

8C7BA8B8-68C1-4C35-B24B-ED95306C75BD.jpeg

7B89279A-331C-4A04-96B6-C85DEF1EC8DC.jpeg

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Lots of good choices on AliExpress or Amazon. Main consideration is do you want an LCD screen or analog style? Scales vary a bit also but glass are most common and in my opinion perfectly adequate and 5 micron resolution is what I would suggest. There are a few posts on this forum regarding DRO's and installation.

whydontu

I Tried, It Broke
Premium Member
What type of scales? Check out Yuri’s Toys

Yuri‘s stuff is very economical and well thought out.

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
Hi guys