• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Tips/Techniques Does This Look Right?

Tips/Techniques

Tomc938

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Just opened the power connection box on my new 220 lathe, and the red, black and ground wires are hooked up. The white neutral wire is just taped off.

Beside the tape getting old, have others seen this wiring on other lathes? E4931980-E39B-478B-86F1-396BDCE1F5CF.jpeg

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
I'm far from an expert but 240v does not need a neutral. The only reason for it to be there is if there are 120v needs on the machine.
Is it a two-prong and ground plug or three prong plus ground?

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
It's perfectly normal to tape off or otherwise "neutralize" the neutral. It isn't often used in a 220V single phase machine.

As @David_R8 points out, it's only value if connected is to provide 110V Accessory support. But even that can be done with an onboard transformer. Same goes for 24V systems.

It really doesn't matter if the plug has a neutral or not. If it's taped off in the machine, it prolly wasn't needed.