• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Do-All 6x12 Surface Grinder for $400 (Kitchener)

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
Link gives me

"
20inch WHEEL & TIRE COMBO! BLACK WITH RED MILLING!-Financing available- Cadillac-Chevrolet-Chrysler-Dodge-GMC-Jeep- LG25
$1,390.00
"

trlvn

Ultra Member
The ad has been up for 25 days. I note that it uses 575 volt 3 phase power. I have no experience with phase conversion, but that's an expensive issue for anybody with single phase, no? Either a new motor or phase conversion plus step-up transformer?

The main bearings for the grinding wheel are key to accuracy on such machines, right? Anyone know what kind of life can be expected? They must be expensive if they need to be replaced.

Craig

torinwalker

Every good piece of equipment I use is on three-phase. For my mill, and my lathe, I use a 600 to 240V 4.5kva transformer wired in reverse and drive the main spindle with a VFD.

Hacker

Super User
Agreed, the initial cost of setting up three phase for larger motors can be expensive but once you have it it is the only way to go. That is the beauty of a transformer they work in either direction.

Tom Kitta

Ultra Member
A 600v transformers can be had on auctions for around 120 - 170 CAD. VFDs can be had for less then 200. This is excellent deal.

Dabbler

ersatz engineer