Cutting 1/2 dia HSS

trlvn

Ultra Member
I need to shorten a HSS boring bar to go into the boring head on my mill. Otherwise, I run out of Z height.

I think I want to use a zip disc in a 4-1/2" angle grinder* but I have zero experience with such a cut. I've only used the angle grinder a handful of times and that was with grinding and scotch-brite wheels. I have used similar cutoff wheels in the Dremel, including cutting HSS a couple of times.

A quick look online shows that there are MANY zip discs out there. Some indicate that they'll work with stainless steel but I didn't see one that said anything about HSS. This is probably a one-off thing so I don't want to waste time and money trying stuff to find out it won't work. Also, I really don't like the idea of a disc exploding in front of my face.

I'd appreciate a specific product recommendation for bricks-and-mortar store that I can go visit tomorrow.

Thanks,

Craig

*Belonged to my late brother.

Dan Dubeau

Ultra Member
Any thin (0.045-1/16") cutoff disc should do this, but I would make sure you get a reinforced one. Some are more prone to rapid disassembly than others. I pretty much only buy dewalt ones from peavey mart when they go one sale for $1 a few times a year. Been buying them for years, and have easily gone through a few hundred of them and never had one blow up on me. I think they're around $3 regular price. I've lucked into boxes of different types for same/cheaper price before, but if I manage to catch a sale I stock up on 30-40 of them and that usually gets me through to the next sale.