Tips/Techniques Coolant for my mill?

Tips/Techniques

PaulL

Technologist at Large
Premium Member
Having done Bad Things(tm) to too many end mills I'm thinking it's time to sort out coolant on my First mill.
It has a built-in pump, but it's not running - I need to move it 24" away from the wall and do some debugging in there if I want it to run. The machine is designed to filter/cycle fluid from the sump it seems, which also doesn't seem to have any tidy clean-up facility. I expect the sump to get pretty gross.
I've also been looking at mist coolant systems, which would save me moving the machine. These are so extravagantly cheap that I'm probably going to press the button before I finish this paragr...ok, done, and I'll report on it when it arrives, oh, on Monday. That's too soon, so I'll report on it once the insulation is done in my shop.
And now that I've spent 40$ on a stop-gap, is it worth getting the flood coolant going on the mill? I have no experience with either flood nor mist.

YYCHM

(Craig)
Premium Member
I'd be figuring out why your toasting endmills before going that route. What are you using for speeds and feeds data?

Feeding an endmill into the work from the wrong direction (up milling v.s. down milling) can be deadly on endmills. Excessive vibration is another indication that something isn't right.

Last edited:

Susquatch

Ultra Member
Administrator
Premium Member
And now that I've spent 40$ on a stop-gap, is it worth getting the flood coolant going on the mill? I have no experience with either flood nor mist.

Me either. But I'm quite happy with dabbling some on with a small brush. I don't want coolant all over my shop.

PaulL

Technologist at Large
Premium Member
I'd be figuring out why your toasting endmills before going that route. What are you using for speeds and feeds data?