Clearance of overseas shipment from EU

They are a broker pure and simple, they submit your customs paperwork (ie look up relevant Harm codes) on your behave and after the government does confirmation, tell you what you need to pay in duties and taxes. Their service is a flat fee.

Or you can do it yourself, but for $40.00 is it worth it as you need to do the running around.

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
I'm no expert but that is kind of my read as well.

Long time ago I used Coles because they had a particularly good USA flat fee import/export/delivery package & were amenable to small business. Other brokers had different value levels, fee structure & types of businesses they support, so its kind of a shop around thing. But Coles only deal with businesses (read GST# & tax filing, not just a name). They don't deal with individuals, which I think is the majority of brokers. Maybe that is what makes Clearit distinct? Just look for any other fees such as warehousing/storage/?? that may be over & above. The benefit may depend on your item(s) as well. If you purchased something normally via the dreaded couriers, part of their total dinger fees is probably equivalent to the $40 once you have factored out transportation, duty, tax, various other emerging fees... Where we get our knickers in a knot is a 10$ value box of duty free air still requires us to pay $40 for them to assess, but that may be no different vs Clearit charge. Now if its a 2000$ order made up of several of distinct components with different tariff classes & rates, 40$ doesn't seem so bad anymore for them to get it right.

gerritv

Gerrit
Thank you.
It's a 700+kg package so the fees will be smallish comparitively speaking :) I was hoping someone had direct experience with them.