Brazed ratchet socket?

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Has anyone successfully brazed steel hex stock within a conventional drive socket? I'm wanting to make a dedicated tool & basically keep the stock 'stuck' in there vs engaging the socket on the hex itself like a common bolt head.
I'm just guessing the hard chrome inside the socket might not play well with braze but I have limited brazing experience. Actually what I have is Harris Safety Silv 45, not brazing rod per say. I figure its only going to occupy the small annular gap between socket & hex stock & hopefully the torque will be entirely taken up by the stock, not the braze. I don't see anything on the WW Interweb which tells me its probably even sub-hillbilly.

Attachments

• EDT-28-07-2023 11.29.43 PM.jpg
    EDT-28-07-2023 11.29.43 PM.jpg
    11.3 KB · Views: 3

DavidR8

Scrap maker
Administrator
Premium Member
I’ve never silver soldered anything but I think that it could also be MIG or TIG welded in place. I’d grind the face of the socket down to expose the base metal and have at it.
If concentricity matters I’d venture to guess that the hex stock could be shimmed into the centre of the socket.

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member
I'll add it to my 149 immediate projects to TIG so that when I finally pull the trigger it will feel like a necessity rather than a nice to have LOL.

Soldering would work no problem. Clean, flux, flux and silver solder.

Strength is not as high as welding but but for your application not an issue.

Heck regular plumping solder would work.

6.5 Fan

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Never tried brazing but have welded a few to make extra long (10-12inch) sockets. No issues that i remember.

Dan Dubeau

Ultra Member