• Scam Alert. Members are reminded to NOT send money to buy anything. Don't buy things remote and have it shipped - go get it yourself, pay in person, and take your equipment with you. Scammers have burned people on this forum. Urgency, secrecy, excuses, selling for friend, newish members, FUD, are RED FLAGS. A video conference call is not adequate assurance. Face to face interactions are required. Please report suspicions to the forum admins. Stay Safe - anyone can get scammed.

Ball turning troubles

DPittman

Ultra Member
It's my first attempt at making a ball turner and making a ball ( actually my first ball is more of an egg).
I'm experiencing severe chatter at times in the middle third of the ball. Cuts are smoother one way more than the other on both ends.

I've messed around with speeds and have things as rigid as I can but am obviously missing something. Almost anything with me could be suspect! As you might be able to see from the picture, my cutting insert does not sit flush with the " backstop", although it does not move around. I'm thinking this shouldn't matter?

I'm looking for suggestions and experience. Am I missing some critical geometry fundamental principals?

Don

I think the important factors for spherical ball turning are
1) (viewed from the top) the ball turner rotation axis must be exactly under the lathe/part rotation axis
2) (viewed from the end) the cutter point must be centered vertically with the lathe/part rotation axis.

Setup wise, check that you don't have deflection going on. If the ball holding arbor (your bolt) is sticking out cantilevered quite a ways, it might be bending off-axis because its unsupported & rather skinny. But I think that would have to be a lot to account for your shape. I realize you cant use the tailstock because the spherical cutting has to go around the end, but if you can sneak the ball segment closer to the chuck without endangering yourself or spherical cutter, that might help. But check 1 & 2 first.